Paul James and the Drowned Lovers play songs about love, life, death and disappointment. 

Paul James - vocals, saxophones. Jo Wadeson - bass. Emma Holbrook - drums. Victor Nicholls - electric guitar, loops, f/x. Fiona Barrow - violin.  Chris Moore - keyboards.

Paul James is a singer and saxophone player from Newbury. He plays with folk legends Blowzabella and the European band Evening Star. He recently composed and performed the music for the critically acclaimed "Comus" at Shakepeare's Globe, London.  

Jo Wadeson began playing bass at the age of 14 cutting her teeth in the pubs of Derbyshire. Since then she has gone on to perform and record with  many well known artists including The Waterboys, Grace Jones, Thea Gilmore and Beth Orton.

Emma Holbrook is a drummer, percussionist and film maker based in Bristol. Being passionate about all kinds of music, she regularly plays everything from swing to funk, soul, blues, folk and flamenco. She also plays percussion and composes music for contemporary dance classes and performance.

Victor Nicholls plays jazz, funk, improvised and experimental music on electric guitar and bass with loops and fx. He's played with theatre orchestras, brass bands, and post-punk groups and is a member of Evening Star. His tuba playing anchors a 90-strong community wind band.  

Fiona Barrow is a Bristol based violinist who trained classically until she defected to follow her love of traditional and world music and theatre.  She has worked as street performer across Europe with Tragic Roundabout, Fiasco di Casino and Swervy World and toured with the Doppelgänger Gypsy Orchestra. Her theatre work includes stints with Kneehigh Theare, Travelling Lights award- winning show ʻInto The Westʼ on Broadway and the critically acclaimed 'Comus' at  Shakepeare's Globe with Paul James.  

Chris Moore started his music career in 1965 working in theatre and bands (Bruce Ruffin, A-Level). He has composed and accompanied for the London Contemporary Dance Theatre and Ballet Rambert and run his own recording studio in his home town of Brighton. Most recently he's been playing with The Informers and Lost Wages.